Bitcoin donations to: 1CE9UfWJcHBYkWPns7iqBqZgKhd5xfqEaM thanks!
Buy Bitcoins easily by clicking HERE and get $10 in free bitcoins!

Author Topic: Chameleon PLOOP 2.0.  (Read 1372 times)

gil

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2637
  • SMeter: +70/-3
    • View Profile
    • Radio Preppers
Chameleon PLOOP 2.0.
« on: June 23, 2017, 06:50:53 AM »

Gil.

Jon_Garfio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • SMeter: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • La Madriguera
Re: Chameleon PLOOP 2.0.
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2017, 11:19:46 AM »
I can't understand why magnetics loop antennas (without remote control unit) are so expensive.

Anyway your video is well made and I like it, like all in your channel.






Enviado desde mi iPad utilizando Tapatalk Pro
Sapere aude

gil

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2637
  • SMeter: +70/-3
    • View Profile
    • Radio Preppers
Re: Chameleon PLOOP 2.0.
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2017, 03:05:42 AM »
The price is a bit much. It would be justified if the loop used a vacuum capacitor, but an air-gap capacitor, not so much...

Gil.

caulktel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • SMeter: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chameleon PLOOP 2.0.
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2017, 12:47:56 PM »
I built one out of copper tubing and PVC pipe and a air variable cap from Ebay. $30 total. The problem is, it's not portable and wont fit in my car, so I guess that why they get the big $$$, portability.

Joel
N6ALT

cockpitbob

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1162
  • SMeter: +39/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chameleon PLOOP 2.0.
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2017, 10:28:42 PM »
I made one similar to the P-loop with an air variable cap, LMR400 for the radiator and RG58 for the little loop coupler thingy.  I had very little money invested in it, but I won't put more than 10W into it because I don't trust the air variable that much.

Pro-tip:  I mounted the loop coupler thingy so I could slide it up and down and vary its distance from the main loop a little.  With that extra adjustment I was able to get a true 50, j0 Ohms impedance.