Anyone so new they don't even have a radio yet?

Started by White Tiger, September 27, 2012, 03:30:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gil

QuoteSo to really dumb it down what is a carrier and what are sidebands?

That would be a long answer, and I am no expert. So, you might want to use Google for this...

QuoteAre you recommending taking the test before getting a radio?

I don't think it matters. I had a few radios before I got my license. I was just listening.

QuoteI would expect the answer to be yes, but I don't know if there are handheld units that have SSB.

Yes, you do need SSB on both ends. For a CB SSB handheld, see:
http://www.copper.com/cart/product_info.php?products_id=1780&osCsid=bb0a55686a9466c1eeb62296083ee0ca
I don't believe it's legal though...
Handhelds are pretty much FM.

Gil.

Geek

cockpitbob

Quote from: Geek on February 05, 2013, 09:04:14 PM
What about a short wave handheld?
Sadly, they pretty much don't exist.  Among other things, most SSB happens on the SW bands which require really long antennas for effeciency.

One note.  You don't even need a radio to listen.  There are SW radios on the web you can listen to.  Go to www.w4ax.com.  Scroll down to the box that says Frequency, click the 40M button (40 meter band) and then click the + and - buttons to move the receive frequency around.  Note the yellow trapezoid that shows the bandwidth you are listening to.  In the Bandwidth window click the USB button (upper side band) when listening to 20M.  On 40M and on all the others click LSB.  For technical reasons I forget the old timers picked the convention of using USB for 20M and shorter bands and LSB for the longer bands.

Down at the left (low frequency) end of the bands is where the Morse guys hang out.  I'll tune down there and try to copy code.

Geek

Do you mean don't exist with SSB, or don't exist at all?  I am seeing ads, particularly for Baofeng and Yaesu that seem to be offering SW handhelds but they make no mention of SSB.