Beginner's DIY Project: Building a Breakout Box

Started by raybiker73, October 08, 2012, 05:06:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

raybiker73

I know there are a lot of people here who?ve been building their own stuff for years, but there are also a lot of people (myself included) who don?t have as much experience. In fact, a lot of people I?ve talked to, particularly new hams, are hesitant to tackle anything that requires a soldering iron and wires.

A big part of prepping is self-reliance. What happens if TSHTF and you can no longer run to Radio Shack for a part, or ask for advice on an internet forum? Self-reliance in your communications planning is just as important as self-reliance in other aspects of your planning, so every prepper ham should be able to do some basic construction and repair. I?m certainly no engineer, so I need to learn as much as anyone else. To that end, I?ve put together a very easy project that even a complete beginner can complete in just a couple hours.

I have two HF rigs, an Icom IC-7200 and a Heathkit HW-8. I love them both, but they share one major inconvenience: rear-mounted jacks. On the Icom, the headphone jack is easily accessible on the front of the transceiver, but the CW key jack is on the back. On the Heathkit, both the key and phone jacks are on the back of the transceiver. I hate cable clutter, and I hate having to mess around trying to blindly fumble a connection at the back of the units, so I made a simple breakout box to put those often-used jacks at the front of my desk.

I didn?t really want to spend any money on this project, so I went through my guitar junk box for parts. These are all parts I happened to have on hand, but you can get them all pretty cheaply at Radio Shack or any other electronics store. Here?s what I used:

(2) 1/4? stereo jacks (for the IC-7200 key connection)
(4) 1/4? mono jacks (for the HW-8 key and headphones connections)