Brand new to radio

Started by Mbahu, June 18, 2014, 12:37:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mbahu

Hey everyone.

I'm new to the world of radio and have some basic needs that hopefully you all can help me with:

If I want a radio that I can stay in contact with my family in a large area in the case of cell service going down I've been told I want HAM. Is this right? How far can the farthest HAM handheld go too? And what handheld HAM radios wold you recommend? Also what does a HAM base station do?

I'm going to put a cb in my jeep and one in my fathers land cruiser for vehicle to vehicle communication. Again just for safety precautions. Best choice of cb? Best choice of antenna?

Thanks guys I know that's a lot and it seems confusing to me but I believe I'm in the right place!

Luigi

Hi there. A handheld at 5 watts can cover a large area if a repeater is used. I typically get county wide coverage using a repeater. In simplex it depends on height, objects in the way and the frequency used.

Baofeng UV-82 is a nice entry radio because it is a lower cost radio for handheld use. It covers 2 m and 70 cm bands. 2 m has better coverage in a large area. 70 cm will get though buildings better if you are inside. I can easily hit repeaters 50 km away because they are on mountain tops.

A Yaesu vx-8 is an expensive option, but it has 1.25 and 6 meter bands in addition to 2 m and 70 cm bands. The 6 meter band has very good local coverage and it can also link to a repeater. The 6 meter simplex coverage is much like that of a 2 meter band repeater coverage. You would need a larger antenna for 6 meters. Some people try DX with 6 meters. DX on this band is not reliable. Openings for long distance can open and close in seconds. Using 6 meters for a local area is nice because fewer people use the band and the coverage locally is great.