Weber MTR

Started by KK0G, April 21, 2014, 09:59:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NWARadio

I've bought an SMT learners kit off of Amazon, you might've seen the pic on Facebook. What size iron did you use? I'm very new to this and want to buy a smaller one if I need to.

So long and thanks for all the fish.

So long, and thanks for all the fish

KK0G

Quote from: NWARadio on May 03, 2014, 12:30:54 PM
I've bought an SMT learners kit off of Amazon, you might've seen the pic on Facebook. What size iron did you use? I'm very new to this and want to buy a smaller one if I need to.
This is what I use: http://yihua-soldering.com/product-5-4-constant-temperature-soldering-station-en/147699

They're all over eBay and Amazon for around $60. You'll need a very small needle tip but not much power for doing SMT which works well since the Yihua can easily change tips and maintain a constant temperature so it doesn't burn the tip up.
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety" - Benjamin Franklin

KK0G

KK0G

She's done! What very little I've played with it, it seems to work well although I haven't even ventured into the menus yet.

The only modification I made was to substitute a BNC connector in place of the provided RCA so that it will match all my other rigs, tight fit but not difficult at all. The only other modification I'd like to do is to change the power connector to the QRP standard 2.1mm so that once again it matches all my other rigs and batteries. That one might be a little tougher but I bet I can get it shoehorned in there somehow ;D .
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety" - Benjamin Franklin

KK0G

KC3AOL

Nice. I'm hoping to get started on mine in about two weeks... if my magnifier glasses show up before then.

Sent from my Venue 8 Pro 5830 using Tapatalk

KK0G

Quote from: KC3AOL on May 04, 2014, 06:21:09 AM