Get on HF with a tech license

Started by Luigi, November 16, 2014, 04:24:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Luigi

I like the fact that the technicians can get on hf with cw. This gives them a chance to see if they want to go for the general exam.
I just had a nice cw ragchew with a novice on 15 meters who has been an amateur longer than I have been alive. His code a excellent. Anyways, it is great that limited sections are available for all licensed users to use.
Propagation has been kind this afternoon.
Luigi

cockpitbob

Quite true.  Unfortunately, I'm guessing that less than 5% of new Technicians will learn Morse before the get their General.

I would love to see statistics about how many recent hams know Morse.  I'm guessing very few.

gil

I think less than 1% of hams will learn Morse, period.

Gil.

K7JLJ

Count me in that 1%.  I just got my ticket 10 days ago and have started learning code via LCWOL.net

I'm studying for general but will not test until I have a solid 5WPM but hope for more.

I think it's a shame that code is no longer required. I'm fascinated by the heritage and purist aspects of it, but I'm weird that way I guess.

Sorry if I was suppose to make an intro post somewhere but this topic got me to post.

If anyone has tips on learning morse, I'm listening!
-Jim

RadioRay

USMC0331-

Congratulations of the Technician license and fine on your plans for General. Morse on HF is simple amazing in it's ability to penetrate noise and allows communication when voice absolutely will not. When you have a chance, you might want to pull-up some of the article son this site about operating on backpacking trips, using an indoor loop antenna and even 'Coffeshop Portable' .  We'll do what we can to help you with the code.

>RadioRay  ..._  ._
"When we cannot do the good we would, we must be ready to do the good we can."  ~ Matthew Henry

gil

QuoteCount me in that 1%.  I just got my ticket 10 days ago and have started learning code via LCWOL.net