Has the KX1 Changed Much?

Started by cockpitbob, March 26, 2014, 07:16:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cockpitbob

I've decided I've outgrown my 2 band R4020 and want a KX1.  I have a line on a used one that is 5 years old.  Supposidely it's very lightly used and has never been in the field.  It's a little pricey, but cheaper than new and I'm an electrical engineer who does a lot of soldering for a living.  I'm also very busy so a big soldering project just doesn't appeal.

Do any of you QRP gurus know if there have been noticable changes to the KX1 in the last 5 years?

gil

Hello Bob, I don't think they have changed much. Elecraft would be glad to tell you. All the mods for their transceivers are well documented for everyone to upgrade. There could be a firmware update, in which case you might need to change an IC. Usually other upgrades are minor components to change or add. I might get one myself if I miss the next Weber MTR release, but I do want to build it! I suggest you join the Elecraft email reflector and ask.. You'll get an answer in a matter of hours.

Gil.

KK0G

I'd follow Gil's advice to contact Elecraft, they'd be more than happy to tell you. That said, I don't think there have been any changes to the KX1 itself in 5 years other than perhaps a firmware upgrade. The optional 30 meter module was changed to a 30/80 meter module which I believe necessitated a subsequent change to the optional ATU module, but I don't know if that happened in the last 5 years or not.

As to the Elecraft e-mail reflector; I found it practically useless when I was building my KX1 and my K2. Ever since the explosion in popularity of the K3 and KX3, the overwhelming majority of the traffic on the reflector pertains to those models with little traffic concerning the traditional kit built Elecraft models. Your mileage may vary.
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety" - Benjamin Franklin

KK0G

cockpitbob