Elecraft KX1

Started by KK0G, April 24, 2013, 11:13:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

KK0G

Hi everybody.

I joined the forum about a year ago but haven't really visited here much other than in the last few weeks so I thought I'd introduce myself. My QRZ profile;  http://www.qrz.com/db/KK0G gives a quick rundown of my ham activities and a few photos.

As to the subject of my post; I just ordered an Elecraft KX1 on Monday, hopefully it shows up later this week, can't wait to get started building it. About a year ago I completed a Weber Dual Band from Hendricks QRP Kits and it's been a great little rig but I wanted something a little more trail friendly hence the KX1.

KK0G
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety" - Benjamin Franklin

KK0G

Joe

Welcome Chris. This is a great forum !!! We are like minded people, My background is pretty close to yours. The KX1 looks like a great kit, it is one that is on my list, but aways down the list.

73 Joe

gil

Welcome aboard Chris  :) You'll fit right in... As Joe says, we all have similar interests here. I practice and occasionally teach Systema martial art... Are you a pilot (given your QSL)? I am...  Good choice on the KX1. I hesitated a long time between the KX1 and the K1. The K1 won because of it's speaker, but the KX1 might have been a better choice because of the SWL. I might still build one some day. Not that I don't have enough radios  ::) but building is fun and relaxing to me. Though, I hurried too much building my K1, and that was somewhat stressful. Take your time!

Nice shooting position there on the range rifle-to-bone-to-ground  ;)

Gil.

madball13

Are you a Pincus disciple?

I respect the Glock!!

KK0G

Thanks for the warm welcome guys, and yes it does appear we all have pretty similar interests.