MIA Introduction

Started by MIA, September 02, 2012, 11:55:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MIA

I inadvertently posted my introduction into one of Gil's topics (it was very late and this old man needed sleep lol), so I have moved it to it's own topic.

I became interested in Amateur Radio in the 1960's when my parents gave me a portable radio that had short wave capability. While exploring the bands and listening to foreign broadcast station, I ended up listening to Ham Operators and it intrigued me, but it went no further. During the 70's I got involved in the CB craziness and had a blast. I kept at CB until life got too busy, and didn't even think about radio again until I had to retire. In 2000 I saw an advertisement for a Ham Radio club in the local paper, and went to their meeting that same night. They were very friendly and convinced me to take the Technician test that night, and thatnks to what I had learned over the years and from CB, I passed (barely). I studied until the next month's meeting, then took the test and passed the General. It wasn't to a year later that I finally got around to taking (and passing) the Extra test. Since then I have trained as an emergency communicator and volunteered with the Red Cross, ARES and RACES, as well as working with local and county governments. My wife and both kids are also licensed.