Hello, My name is:

Started by shaverstick, September 03, 2012, 07:45:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shaverstick

Hey folks, I'm Sam. I am a firefighter and former news photorapher in Louisville KY. I have an interest in radio, and a desire to get a ticket, but time is real factor. I'm a prepper, naturally that's how I found this site, and I enjoy lots of things, but mostly I enjoy being outside and away from other people save my family and a few friends. That however doesn't mean I hate people. In fact I really enjoy being around folks (as long as it's no to many at once)!

I grew up spending my summers in nothern Ontario and still get there nearly every year. As a kid, the cabin we lived in in ONT was so far north, the radio was the only means of electronic comms. I got used to it and I miss it.

I am a Firefighter/EMT for a large suburban fire department in Kentucky and have a wealth of info I'd love to exchange for some more radio/electronics information.  I look forward to getting to know some of you all in these forums in the near future.

Here's a tip for firefighting in the SHTF, when 911 is no longer an option: One of the most frequently used items on a fire truck is the 'water can.' It's a stainless 2.5 gallon extinguisher that is charged by pressurized air. It's refillable by the user and at no cost, can be used time and again, and can actually put out a larger fire than you might think. They're relatively inexpensive as well.

ConfederateColonel

Quote from: Trail Tree Island on September 03, 2012, 07:45:35 PM
Here's a tip for firefighting in the SHTF, when 911 is no longer an option: One of the most frequently used items on a fire truck is the 'water can.' It's a stainless 2.5 gallon extinguisher that is charged by pressurized air. It's refillable by the user and at no cost, can be used time and again, and can actually put out a larger fire than you might think. They're relatively inexpensive as well.