New member, saying hi

Started by wildsky, April 02, 2013, 06:13:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wildsky

Hey everyone,

What a great forum! I've just spent the past 2 days reading through all the history here. Ham and prepping goes together like chocolate and peanut butter!

Gil, please PM me your Paypal address, and I'll contribute to the coffers. We could also discuss various hosting options too, if you like. I've been doing web work forever and run a lot of sites.

I'm a Seattle-based web developer/writer/film director. Just got my General license, and am knee-deep in researching what should be my first rig. The short list currently consists of:

Yaesu FT-897D - I love the idea of internal batteries and tuner, so I can grab and go with less fuss.

Icom IC-7200 - More modern rig, great screen, portable. But uses more power.

Elecraft KX3 - One of my instructors brought this to class. The whole concept of SDR is appealing, plus it's such a compact package. I don't know if I'll ever do CW, but it's possible.

Yaesu FT-450D - The engineering seems exceptional.

Yaesu FT-950 - The optional data management unit makes my inner geek happy. But it's the least portable of the bunch.

From a prepping standpoint, my issues are:

1) If I'm at work downtown, I need good communication with home (15 miles).
2) If we bug-in, I want great NVIS ability and good DX capability.
3) If we bug-out, I want a rig that can go in the car fairly easily. I'm assembling several go bags, so I'd like to add the rig into the mix without a lot of hassle.

With 3 adults and 2 kids, logistics matter! :)

Glad to be here!

Chris

gil