Hello

Started by fastback65, September 12, 2012, 02:23:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fastback65

Hello, My name is Rick, and I am a HAM.   It really is a kind of addiction.  I am the past President of the Central Mississippi Amateur Radio Association, I just resigned as EC for my county and I am the county RACES officer.  I am a VE and Volunteer instructor.  My wife is also an Amateur Extra, and we usually hang out on 20 meters daytime and 75 at night.

gil

Hello Rick, and welcome aboard  :)

Gil.

rah

Hello Rick, and welcome.  Please share your experience and expertise in the realm of emcom with us.
Yaesu FT-897
LDG AT-200Pro II
Icom IC-91A

Sunflower

Welcome Rick. What is meant by your wife's title description? Amateur Extra? Is that like a helper? Can she take Morse Code? Can you?

I am very very new. I only recently learned that my husband took his test for HAM many years ago. He did not pass. And my husband is smart. He was a electrician, computer guy when they were new, a mechanic, a pilot, etc. It was sort of "concerning" when I contemplated the idea that he studied and did not pass.

gil

Hello Sunflower,

The Technician test is extremely easy. He probably did not study at all. Anyone will pass by reading the book once and taking a few practice exams online. It's much easier than getting a driver's license!

Gil.

WA4STO

Gil's right, Sunflower; we purposefully make the exams extremely easy, since we WANT newcomers.

At one time, the exams were a royal pain; no "multiple guess" stuff back then.  Today, however, we've crafted the exams such that every question and  every correct answer is  available to you free of charge.