Is there an online class for beginners?

Started by KeyBoardMine, June 23, 2014, 01:27:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KeyBoardMine

I actually was a radio operator in the USAFR back in the eighties. We used former fifties equipment. I worked at the MARS station at Kelly AFB, TX, passing messages and setting up the local HAM radio network.

I was young, 19-20 and really didn't pay much attention to the equipment but did my job  :-\ . Now, I'm an author of a dystopian series and can see where this technology is still needed. I would like to relearn most of what I ignored as a young girl for both fictional and factual applications.

I can say that I worked with a sergeant that was sitting at my desk, before I arrived there, and he was the first point of contact for Mexico City back in 86' for their horrific earthquake. Through him, they were finally able to get some help; this was way before cell phones. So in the event cell phones become obsolete, radio is it and useful.

Problem is, I don't remember anything. I don't have the equipment and see there is a lot of information here that is useful. Is there a class for newbies to get started again?

John Galt

Not really a class but hamexam and a few other sites have the FCC question pool online and will help you prepare for the tests.  Other than that, there's really not an online course that I'm aware of.  I'm a new ham myself so used the sites mentioned above to pass the tests but after that had to rely on various books to pick up different topics.
Hope this helps and welcome to the forum.

cockpitbob

First, welcome aboard this board!!!! :D    What this place lacks in size and member population it makes up for in the quality of the people.