IC-735 QRP Radio

Started by KK0G, September 24, 2013, 09:33:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KK0G

While I have my TS-2000 tore apart on my bench waiting for parts to arrive so I can replace the burnt out display bulbs, for old times sake I placed my old Icom IC-735 in the main operating position normally occupied by the Kenwood (although I've been using my KX1 as my go to rig for several months now). Even turning the RF gain control down to minimum it still wouldn't reach QRP levels, 12 watts was as low as it would go.......... so I "fixed" it 8) .

Turns out there are separate internal high and low adjustment pots on the main PCB. Now it transmits 4 watts minimum and 40 watts maximum. I suppose I could have left the high power setting alone but it was just begging to be reduced also and if I ever want full power again it's only a twist of a screwdriver away.

This old pig still sucks current like it's going out of style even on receive, and it has no narrow CW filter so it's wide as a barn door but it's still fun to play with.
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety" - Benjamin Franklin

KK0G

cockpitbob

Quote from: KK0G on September 24, 2013, 09:33:05 PM
... it still wouldn't reach QRP levels, 12 watts was as low as it would go.......... so I "fixed" it 8) .
...    Now it transmits 4 watts minimum and 40 watts maximum.
Took a 100W radio and made it a 40W radio :o .  I understand the QRP bug as I have it myself, but with all due respect...Bwaaaa haaaaa haaaa

Archangel320420

Oh sure. Now how do I know if you are running 2 watts or 4 watts or that 40 mega watts QRO on 7.037 Mhz, Huh? Huh?

gil