Intro and mcHF

Started by Rescue9, July 15, 2015, 09:43:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rescue9

Hello all. I've been lurking for a while reading all I could. Searching through Tapatalk for QRP led me here. I don't talk much, but will input on subjects that I have some knowledge.

I work for a career fire  department in western Kentucky. I've been EMS/Fire in  some form for 22 years.  I got my Tech class license almost two years now,but fell out of it for a while. I talk 2m & 70cm at work all the time so there was no novelty for me that I thought I would have.  I've been actively working for General now for a could months, and plan to have it soon. So I've never talked on HF yet, never had an elmer, and am learning from scratch.

My drive for General class came when I Googled QRP backpacking radio and found the Softrock SDR. But needing a laptop wasn't reasonable for me.... Then I found M0NKA's mcHF project and just had to build one.  Well, I built one over the past 3 weeks and have it "working", but I don't have an antenna and the three I've tried making all give me the same results.... A waterfall filled with static every the 5 hz or so. No worries, I'll get a known working antenna from a friend later this week; at least I hope so, not being able to talk is killing me. I've heard that with the mcHF, solder issues are usually the problem, so having a known good antenna will help me troubleshoot.

Anyway, my post was twofold, I'd seen someone here post about the mcHF before and figured I'd introduce myself and let everyone know I've built one if anyone has questions. In addition, I like the discussions here and wanted to intro so when I do eventually make a comment, you guys won't be thinking "who's this noob"! Also, typing on a tablet bites, laptop is updating now..... I usually don't make this many grammatical errors, but am too lazy to fix em all.

cockpitbob

Rescue9, welcome to the board!