First Contact - Pretty Stoked!!

Started by John Galt, November 02, 2013, 05:45:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Galt

As I wrote in my introductory post, I'm very new to ham and I'm on the steep end of the learning curve (or is that the deep end?).  So right now, I've got pretty limited knowledge and tools. 

Fast forward to last weekend I decided to go out to the ranch to do some chores, hunting, chillaxing etc.  I threw the Yaesu FT-8900 in the truck and off I went.  I hadn't heard much on 10 meter previously but it was pretty lively that weekend.  Anyhow, listening to 29.600, a CQ comes in pretty strong.  At that point, I have yet to use the PTT button.  Even back in the big city listening to 2m and 70cm with the HT, I haven't done anything but listen and learn. 

So I answer this station from my place outside BFE.  I actually talked to him briefly!  He never could pick up my call sign because my signal was weak.  I've got a Diamond CR-8900 on my truck and my mobile rig  only puts out 50 watts max.  Of course, I don't have internet or much else for that matter for comms out in the sticks so I had to wait to get back to town to look him up.   Enschede, Netherlands!!  By the German border.  5500 miles.  Holy crap!  This stuff works!   

RadioRay

Congratulations Mr. Gault!

USA to Europe from the mobile makes your first HF contact especially memorable!

73 de RadioRay ..._ ._
"When we cannot do the good we would, we must be ready to do the good we can."  ~ Matthew Henry

RichardSinFWTX

Wow!  The Netherlands?!  Good job, man!  I caught a guy who said he was from Portugal on my FT-8900 last year.

Ever listen in on the W5DFW 10m repeater?  give me a shout sometime and we can give it a shot!

Archangel320420

When you can manage to work me, NN0AA, then you will have the biggest thrill amateur radio has to offer. Ask KK0G.

Seriously though, John. Good going.

John Galt

Quote from: KF5RHI on November 02, 2013, 07:40:37 PM