Bitcoin donations to: 1CE9UfWJcHBYkWPns7iqBqZgKhd5xfqEaM thanks!
Buy Bitcoins easily by clicking HERE and get $10 in free bitcoins!

Author Topic: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?  (Read 2417 times)

thunderkiss65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • SMeter: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« on: December 08, 2016, 05:51:57 PM »
Hi. I am new to all this, but to me it seems there is no affordable radio out there that will let you exercise your full general license privileges. It makes no sense to me. Also, the captchas on this site seem excessive.

gil

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2591
  • SMeter: +68/-3
    • View Profile
    • Radio Preppers
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2016, 05:53:27 AM »
Well, why get a crippled radio when you can get a full fledged one? There would be zero advantages in having a "General-only" radio. Besides, manufacturers build radios for a worldwide market, not just the United States. We are supposed to know our band limits, which is easy...

Gil

Sparks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • SMeter: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2016, 06:38:27 AM »
Also, the captchas on this site seem excessive.

I remember I thought so, too, when I was new here. However, I think they disappear when you have posted a few times, ten maybe?

gil

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2591
  • SMeter: +68/-3
    • View Profile
    • Radio Preppers
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2016, 10:13:23 AM »
Yes, they disappear...
Gil

KK0G

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 915
  • SMeter: +23/-0
    • View Profile
    • Efficient Combat Training Inc.
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2016, 01:43:55 PM »
Hi. I am new to all this, but to me it seems there is no affordable radio out there that will let you exercise your full general license privileges. It makes no sense to me. Also, the captchas on this site seem excessive.


You think that's bad? Try finding an affordable radio that lets you exercise your full Extra class license privileges! :o  Hint - there isn't any rig I'm aware of that will allow you to exercise full privileges for either General or Extra class, hell there isn't even one that would allow full exercise of Technician class privileges. Full privileges for General would have to cover every band and mode all the way from HF to microwave. Affordable is also a completely relative term, what's affordable to me may be astronomical to someone else and vice versa. What exactly are you looking for and what kind of budget can you afford?
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety" - Benjamin Franklin

KK0G

thunderkiss65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • SMeter: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2016, 06:07:25 PM »
Thanks for the replies, guys.

I have one more question about vhf and line of sight.

I have a hill about 200 ft away, which is really steep (a wall). On the other side of that hill, no more than a mile or two as the crow flies, is a repeater. Could I hit that repeater? The hill is maybe 350 to 400 ft high.


cockpitbob

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
  • SMeter: +39/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2016, 11:05:46 PM »
You never know till you try.  From the sound of it, it probably wont work, but anything could happen including the signal bouncing off a building or different hill and hitting the repeater on the rebound.  Keep us posted.

thunderkiss65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • SMeter: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2017, 07:09:31 PM »
Well I am going to buy a Yaesu ft60R and will build  a yagi dual band antenna  for sat work and try to hit the repeater at qth. It reallt doesnt matter much as I assume the county is pretty dead anyway, other than law/commercial frequencies which this radio will receive.

thunderkiss65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • SMeter: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2017, 07:31:19 PM »
Anyway, I can drive around the hill about a 1/2 mile to a mile and hit it. It's sad I can't hit it at home. I have accepted the drawbacks of living here for years.

thunderkiss65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • SMeter: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why not a radio that has the general license defaults?
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2017, 07:34:58 PM »
I am not even totally sure the repeater is still active. It shows up in some lists and not in others.